Sunday, September 27, 2009

Amazing catch!!

Sept. 27, 2009 -- Clint Barmes makes an amazing game-ending diving catch and double play with runners on first and third in the top of the ninth inning, preserving a 4-3 win for the Rockies.


Barmes Catch-3763
Barmes Catch-3768
Barmes Catch-3772

Barmes Catch-3773
Barmes Catch-3774
Barmes Catch-3775
Barmes Catch-3776
Barmes Catch-3777
Barmes Catch-3778
Barmes Catch-3779
Barmes Catch-3780
Barmes Catch-3781
Barmes Catch-3782

Barmes Catch-3783
Barmes Catch-3784

Barmes Catch-3786

Final: Rockies 4, Cardinals 3.

52 comments:

Anonymous Communist said...

Great photos, but #5 clearly shows the ball on the ground. No catch! ;-)

Good luck in the playoffs from a Cardinals fan.

Jim said...

Dodgers have a right to protest the game! However, they will win the west regardless of this snafu by the umpiring staff.

Hernandez
Whittier, CA.

Brenda B. said...

The ball was clearly on the ground in photo #5. It's on the ground at Barmes' knee. He had to do that weird spin & acrobatics to make it look like he caught it.

Anonymous said...

still pretty heads up for barmes to grab it while hes rolling and flipping to make it look like he caught it.

Anonymous said...

I'd say it's the Braves who would be most interested in protesting the game, followed by the Cards if it impact their playoff seeding.

Anonymous said...

Yea, Yea, Yea...Here's a picture...so it must be true. Pictures can be doctored, you know. All of the various camera angles of the various replays do not show the ball on the ground.

Anonymous said...

Considering the fact the umpire called a strike on Giambit when the ball was 5 inches below his knees, and the first basement calling Fowler out when the re-play shows the ball wasn't even NEAR the first baseman's glove when Fowler was already on base... I suggest we call it even for both sides and move on.

Anonymous said...

These pictures are not doctored. Any Photo 100 student could tell you that. And these are photos taken by a Rockies fans. Also the "various camera angles" (you mean all two of them?) do not show the play from the angle of these photos- Barmes' body completely obscures our view of the ball from the vantage points on the video. Nice try, but there is little room for doubt that these photos show the truth.

Anonymous said...

I like the suggestion that the Rockies fan who posted the picture must have doctored it. Probably to get in the Braves' heads, right?

Anonymous said...

IT IS STILL AN AWSOME MOVE !!!

Anonymous said...

But where does the ball go in picture #6? His hand seems flat on the ground, so it can't be hiding there. Based on where the ball seems to be in #5, it would probably be under his shoulder in #6.

I can't check the video from this computer, but the "proof" to me would be in where his hands are when he comes out of the roll, halfway between pictures #7 and #8.

Anonymous said...

So, so easy to Photoshop!

Jon said...

It seems likely he didn't catch it. However, just a couple of games before the umps blew a call of Tulo tagging out a runner trying to steal second. That runner scored the game winning run. So it goes both ways. In the end, it all evens out.

Anonymous said...

Whatever way you look at it,as a catch or not, Barmes made a great play..the fault should be on Pujols, he should have never ran, that ball was in Barmes range, and the run would have scored wether Lugo tagged or not...Pujols gave him the change...blame him not the umpire..no one questioned the call until this pictures came out!!!

Anonymous said...

I mean Lugo has the speed to score wether he has to tag or not!!!

Anonymous said...

Some Rockies fan you are...your 15 seconds are up.

Anonymous said...

You idiot, thanks for ruining one of the greatest plays in Rockies history by posting these. Next time leave your camera in the car.

Clint said...

I caught it.

Anonymous said...

As a former baseball player the thing that irks me is sportscasters using the words amazing, sensational, and awesome when describing routine plays. Any decent 2nd baseman, if they got a good "jump" on the ball off the bat, would make that catch. Since Barmes obviously didn't handle the ball cleanly, his effort was far from "amazing". He did however show talent in recovering the ball quickly enough hide his missed catch.

Phid said...

You are a modern-day Greg Brady, I tell you. Greg Brady!

Anonymous said...

Obviously this guy isnt a Rockies fan and maybe believes he'll be rich and famous for putting these out. Sounds like he would make a great Cubs fan. Regardless, routine or not, caught or not, make up or not, I would love to see someone else try this move at full sprint speed and rotate around a a ball that is on the ground and pick it up without anyone being able to see it. And anyone means the other 40,000+ fans and TV viewers. Heck of a play.

Anonymous said...

Go back to photographing squirrels in your backyard. You're a douche and hardly a baseball fan.

Anonymous said...

"Obviously this guy isnt a Rockies fan and maybe believes he'll be rich and famous for putting these out"

Are people like you really this stupid, or just trying really hard?

Anonymous said...

Amazing no! big time cheating yes!

Anonymous said...

I think (when looking VERY closely) that what everyone else is seeing as the ball, could very well be a break in his shadow. Look closely.... : )

Anonymous said...

I was at this game and amazed Barmes made this catch. After seeing these photo's it proves that he couldn't quite pull off the impossible. But hey, if Barmes can pull off an act like that and sell out the umpires he deserved that out.

Anonymous said...

My hats off to you for posting these shots, especially with you being a Rockies fan. For those showing a lack of respect on your blog...they have to live with who they are, which is punishment enough for their weak actions. Another interesting thought is the ethical debate of Barmes not coming clean on whether or not the ball was caught. Has anyone directed a question to him on the matter?

Anonymous from Colorado

Anonymous said...

Jim, you can't protest a game on a judgement call (safe, out, fair, foul, strike, ball, etc)...only on a misinterpretation of a rule.

The fielder did a great job screening the ball from the umps and he came up with it, so the judgement was a 'catch'.

Roger said...

Take a look at the position of the ball in photo 5 in relation to the position of where the ball should theoretically be in photo 7 when Barmes had the chance to "scoop it up". How is this ball supposed to travel a good 2 yards to be in position to bare hand off the turf? This all happening after losing velocity after deflecting off of Barmes arm? Food for thought

Anonymous said...

You are right. I must be so stupid to think that this fan never imagined these photos would be publicized everywhere, make national headlines, appear on the front of major search pages, and most likely lead to the overshadowing of the entire season on this one play. I'm sure Barmes appreciates this fan's dedication to finding the truth and will thank him for all the questions, comments and harassment he receives over the course of his career. But my gut feeling still says he is a Cubs fan at heart.

Anonymous said...

I think this blogger's theory (and picture) is more impossible than the amazing catch itself. Is anyone else not following where the ball is in pic #5 and where it would be as he rolls - he could not have picked that up from where he landed without someone seeing him and it couldnt have been done in the roll as it would've been under his shoulder. Photoshop or break in the shadow if you ask me.

Anonymous said...

This is for the guy who saiad it was even because of the strikeout call on Giambi(Not Giambit you retard). If you say its even just cause of those plays... what about the other terrible call in the ninth where Skip Shumaker was called out when the ball was clearly like 7 or 8 feet from the base. So snack on that for lunch.

Anonymous said...

In picture 5 the ball is clearly on the ground then you can see the ball right by his head in picture 6. This wasn't a great catch it was a blown call

Anonymous said...

It's a shame that there are so many who are more interested in making excuses and calling the fan who posted these pictures names than accepting that a bad call was made and he got away with one. It's not the first time it has happened and it won't be the last. At least have the character to acknowledge it instead of criticizing the guy who caught it on his camera!

Joe said...

The best thing to do would have been to wait until after the season to release these pictures. What purpose does it serve. All pitcures can be speculated on and according to the rules, the umpire's have to make the calls based on WHAT THEY SEE. That's why there are so many "blown" calls each year. Take a picture of the strike zone on every pitch- are strikes and balls always called the same?- No- Are runners always out with a throw to first when called out? - No. The game is over, which is exactly what Barmes said.

Anonymous said...

I believe the that the ball in the picture was so close to the ground that it appears to be touching but since the whole ball can be seen then it is not since it would look like a 3/4 moon shape like any other ball on any ground his momentum was so great he rolled it up in last moment NICE CATCH!!
T-BONE

Anonymous said...

I applaud Barmes for having the instints to pickup the ball with his bare hand while rolling for the top of the ball. I also thank Barmes for and Spilly for allow the fans to debate the catch. This makes for great drama and entertainment. Is'nt that what baseball is all about? A bad call at 2nd base cost the Rockies a game in this series. Close calls that are judged incorrectly by the umpires is part of baseball. As an old time Cardinal fan I am glad this call was did not occur in a World Series (memories of the bad call at first base in Kansas City still haunt me).

Anonymous said...

Until we get a second picture from a different source, I'd rule that he caught the ball. As we ALL know, Photoshop can work wonders.

brooklynkevinw1969 said...

It was clearly not a catch but I wish the Roockies luck. I kinda like their scrapiness and no quit style of play, but I'm a die hard Yankee, tho I admit I'd rather play the Rockies instead of the Phils in the WS.

Barb said...

I agree with 'Tulo': Who cares? We won!

Anonymous said...

:)

William said...

Ok looking at the sequence of pics and the placement of the supposid bal and the player in relation to the grass.. it is clear that from pic 5 - 7 the only place that the player could have picked up that ball would be in pic 5... because that is where the ball that appears to be in pic 4 is laying.. by the time his body has moved to pic 6 he is at least 1-2 feet farther up field.. and by pic 7 he is at least 1 entire box (the field makes great grid map).. no way could he have grabbed that ball in pic 6 or 7.. he is too far from the supposed placement.. so taking this into account.. it is clear that these photos show a great CATCH.. and the object seen is doctored.. or this guy is some sort of super human with abilty to warp that ball into his hand..

Dylan said...

It looks like he probably didn't catch it, but then the issue becomes whether or not he was intentionally deceptive, and I would submit that his job, after retrieving the ball (not necessarily catching it,) is simply to throw it back in. Ethically I think you would be pretty hard pressed to hold him responsible for informing the umpires that he didn't actually catch it. It's their job to make as accurate a call as they can, without the assistance of the players. So if I can get you to agree with me on all of that, my question is why does this even matter? The game is over and done with and the question of him catching the ball is a moot point now.

Anonymous said...

It's pretty funny people are giving grief to the Rockies fan who posted these. He didn't even take note of the dropped ball.

It was only noticed and pointed out here in the comments.

DirknRory said...

First of all, great blog!! It represents how the love of the game and his team by one fan can be shared with others. Awesome.

Secondly, having played many years or organized baseball, a player WOULD KNOW if he caught the ball or not. AND you also play the game it is set up . . . which is, the Umpires make the calls. In a close-crazy play like this, as the defensive guy, you play the play as if it is an out. You assume the best.

Barmes alludes, but falls short of admitting, that he didn't actually make the catch. Just look at his comments in the media.

I am definitely NOT holding anything against him, or anyone, for that matter. Can you imagine trying to MAKE that call as an umpire. Based on what the umps saw, it was an out.

What a great time of the year!!!!

2009 Repeat WFC said...

Nice fake catch. Is that how you will all your games?

Spilborgh said...

Man, I am so smart. Even if I saw Clint drop the ball, I knew no one would know, told him to throw the ball to first base. Man, am I genious!

laconic said...

These have been at least resized and some cropped. It would be nice to see the original picture before that.

Anonymous said...

Don Denkinger lives.

Poison Thumb said...

Are the Rockies supposed to go back through the season and protest all the bad calls against them as well? Or what about any calls that tipped the scales in favor of the Dodgers?
 
To say the Dodgers, Cards or Braves would protest this game is ignorant. This is the bottom line: A player is out when the umpire says he's out. A player is safe when the umpire says he's safe. The same goes for balls and strikes.
 
All anyone can do is understand and accept that the thousands of questionable or bad calls that are made each season are part of the game.  It's no different than a bad hop in the infield or a strong wind in the outfield.  You have to agree that the law of averages puts nobody at an advantage in the end.
 
And frankly, I don't see the ball on the ground in picture 5.  It appears a dove or swallow flew into the shot.

Anonymous said...

alright, Im sure Barmes is a good ball player, but he is no david copperfield. Im sure that he legitimately thought he caught the ball, you don't flip over twice and know exactly where the ball is.

As he describes it, he knows it wasn't in his glove, then he felt it hit his knee and then it was in his glove... thats all.

When it comes to the picture it looks like its in the grass but it kinda looks like its hitting his knee... who knows... at the end of the day its one game in a season. no need for a "review" of the game.

Jeff said...

The Braves are going to need to protest their 4 losses in a row before they protest this catch, so I guess that's why the comments on this blog have really dropped off lately.